The key/ref ratio.

piman

As you guys might know, the ref/key ratio is getting pretty ridiculous now. During the last year or so, I've noticed that the price went up almost 30 ref.

There are two ways to fix this problem:

a) introduce a shitload of keys into the economy

or 

b) destroy a shitload of ref

In my opinion, option b is preferable, as there is already a little-used method of getting rid of ref: crafting hats and weapons

This can be easily automated by a bot, which can run 24/7 and can craft hundreds of items an hour.

I am a programmer, and already make and sell trade bots. I could easily create such a bot, and run it 24/7 on my own server.

However, this process will be extremely unprofitable, as it costs 3 ref to create a hat worth 1.33.

So, this bot would need to run purely on donations of ref and keys, along with the potential sales of it's craft hats.

I could also make it open-source, so people could run the bot themselves.

Well yes its very easy to do so, the only issue is getting people to throw away such an amount of refined that it'll actually make a dent.

But I doubt that will happen

2 hours ago, Piman said:

As you guys might know, the ref/key ratio is getting pretty ridiculous now. During the last year or so, I've noticed that the price went up almost 30 ref.

or 

In my opinion, option b is preferable, as there is already a little-used method of getting rid of ref: crafting hats and weapons

This can be easily automated by a bot, which can run 24/7 and can craft hundreds of items an hour.

I am a programmer, and already make and sell trade bots. I could easily create such a bot, and run it 24/7 on my own server.

However, this process will be extremely unprofitable, as it costs 3 ref to create a hat worth 1.33.

So, this bot would need to run purely on donations of ref and keys, along with the potential sales of it's craft hats.