Explaining prices of almost everything ...

Hypnotoad

Hi,

I'm quite new to trading in TF2 even if I'm not new at all to TF2, I've read a lot of things on trading, I don't understand where does the price of objets comes from ....

- 1 key = 8.44 ref = 1,7€

- Virtual relity headset = 1.66 ref = 7,2€ (just an example)

What the ... ??? Okay let's assume this hat has no value since everybody can have it.

Let's forget about real money, it seems to be not related at all, lets consider things only in ref/key/bud :

- earbud (TF2 prepurchase on OSX): more or less 80,000 pieces actually on the market = 19 keys

- bill's hat (L4D prepurchase): more or less 175,000 pieces actually on the market = 6 keys

Okay I start to understand, if the only way to have an item is trade, the more it's rare, the more it's expensive :

- Lumbricus Lid (Worms prepurchase) : more or less 65,000 pieces actually on the market = 7-8 ref

- War Head Guenuine (Trine2 prepurchase) : more or less 20,000 pieces actually on the market = 1.33 ref

That's just two example from many many many many others. If you have a look at items in details (price, how many exist, obtainable or not) you'll realize that the problem is not all those low prices, it's seems that bill's hat and bud are completly overrated (with some few other items). I'm sure I'm not the first to notice, and not the first to be lost with this strange economy system.

Seriously can someone explain where does the value of items comes from ? :huh:

The  price you're talking about on the virtual reality headset is the from the mann co store, which charges outrageous prices for the items it carries, which are quite numerous. You're best to trade up than buy items from the mann co store.