Crates and Seasonal Effects - What Should Be Done Now?

SuperSandwichGoku

So I know that since Scream Fortress 2017, seasonal effects have only been unboxable in cases during each event period.

Putting aside whether we think Valve will actually do it, do you think it would be good for the economy if seasonal effect unusuals could be unboxed from crates again?

The possibilities I can think of are:

1. The new effects can be unboxed from crates again as well (Like Scream Fortress 2016)

2. A previous seasonal case's effects can be unboxed from crates (ex. if during this Scream Fortress, crates had the 2022 effect pool)

3. A rerun of one of the crate series (SF 2011-2016)

For 2 and 3 you could also go with huge effect pools of all previous years respectively. And a solution could also involve a changed drop rate.

I know older Halloween unusuals get their value (at least partially) because of their rarity, so I know 3 would not be perfect. I am a new trader so I'm not really informed on what veterans think. I just think that surely there can be some compromise so crates don't get left in the dust.

Thoughts?

• Like 1

The ultimate reality is that nothing the community proposes would ever get implemented and it is unlikely valve will ever revisit anything because that might require like 2 seconds of work more than just approving community made cosmetics every 6 months.

It'd be good for pretty much everybody. There's a lot of very popular cosmetics that are just doomed to legacy effects, a lot of people have attachment to these old hats and they're pretty irrelevant nowadays. Some rejuvenation would be good for the market. Returning of Crate Series would be a win-win.