PC build for a friend

HubertSuo

Long time no see Backpack folks! I've been gone soooooo long from TF2 but it's nice to poke nose here sometimes!

So those who remembered me, I'm no expert on PC stuff. I would like your opinion about this.

I have a friend who has issues with his current PC and would like a suggestion with this build: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/DfbXcY

His budget seems to be around $800 including monitor etc, or about $600 without those. Feel free to edit it around and give an opinion!

He mostly want to play mostly in Ultra settings and FFXIV. So any suggestions?

If he is playing strictly just in tf2, he's gonna want to focus on CPU instead of GPU, since tf2 runs strictly with only CPU for the most part. But getting a nice GPU like a 960 doesnt hurt that badly.

Final Fantasy 14? Okay.

But if he really wants to play, he'll likely need something other than those cheapy boards. If he tries to do a complex move on a cheap keyboard some keys will either not register or stop registering in favor of the new keys.

I'll play around with it for a bit and see what I can come up with.

You also forgot the OS.

Here. How is this. https://pcpartpicker.com/list/4PZ2yX

*Changed storage to 250GB NVME + 1TB 7200RPM

*Changed CPU from 2600 to 2600X

*Added aftermarket cooler

*Changed case to Rosewill Line-M. I own this case and you can cram a lot of hardware into it's small frame.
*Changed PSU to modular model.
*Changed out memory from DDR4-3000 to DDR4-2400 with tighter CAS timings. You won't be using integrated graphics so it will be best to use this RAM.
*Changed your keyboards out to appropriate gaming models on a budget. IF he insists that's too much I have some old still-in-box Razer keyboards and mice that I picked up on clearance that I'll sell to him for $20 a pop.

Also, don't be afraid to shop around on Ebay for deals on coolers, cases, and other parts that would be safe to reuse.

3 hours ago, SoranoGuardias said: