Making profit - unusuals

The Fried Piper

I started trading a little bit ago and I have worked my way up to about 40 ref from nothing. I only got this far in a few good trades where I bought a hat not counting paint than sold it to someone who liked for full value. However people seem to absolutely HATE it when I ask whether they have painted hats then refuse to pay more for paint. I tried selling stranges but you can buy them for bp.tf price on bp.tf from a bot so why the hell would you let me oversell/lowball you? Maximum I make 1 rec profit on that. How can I make profit in tf2? Most guides I see are 3 years old and talk about scrapbanking (lol) or talk about buying unusual quicksells. Please don't tell me to spend irl money. Thanks.

you'll probably be stuck making small metal profits for a while until you have a lot more pure around so you can either do tons of trades (i.e. bulk) with a bot or automatic or something, or you can flip higher tier items.

and ye, most people don't pay more for paint.  and you'd be surprised, it's actually pretty easy to pick up items from the classifieds at under what bots are quickbuying for and immediately flip them to the bots for quick metal.  did it recently with three-run blades and a Cuban bristle crisis, and a lot of craft hats

Buy in bulk. Many people just wanna get rid of stuff and don't wanna spend time selling. If u take the time, u can easily make 20-25% profit on each bulk sale.