Earbuds

Mr.Mem

I was talking with my friends, and we were just wondering why earbuds were ever widely accepted as a currency? They are not visually appealing, and they were not that rare. How did it take off?

I believe back then when users were only allow to trade 8 items at a time, keys were hard to use, so people used earbuds instead since they were "exclusive", "rare", and "Promotion items".  But after the new steam trade was added, keys became easier to use since in new trade window there is infinite amount of items you are allow to add.  Therefore overtime people stopped using buds and used keys.

Im not a professional but thats what I think happened.  Maybe someone else here can explain better then me

Back then, as stated above, the only way to trade back then was via an in-game window where a person could only trade up to 8 items at a time. So, there was a need for items to be worth many keys. Earbuds, Bill's Hats, and Max's Heads were chosen by the community because of their ties to promotions. As there was a fixed amount of each of them, there was little worry about them multiplying and devaluing. It also helped that back then, there were few cosmetics to choose from and they all looked pretty good.