Review of the use of the term "cancer"

The Flying Sloth

Hi guys, 

I've made a couple of successful reports on outpost about the use of the term 'cancer' to describe items. Not only did my father die 2 months ago due to rapid stage 3 cancer, many of my friends have similar stories. We all find it highly irritating and offensive when users describe items as being 'cancer' items. Using the term is insensitive to the families and friends of people who have gone through serious trauma and honestly I do not believe the word has a place in our child friendly community. I do understand that the term is used to describe rubbish items but really it is just easier and less offensive to call them bad items. I am a reasonably experienced trader and the word just is not fitting of the fine people of the TF2 and CS:GO communities.

Can the admin team please review the use of this term as it is not a friendly term and it really is not acceptable. 

Sincerely

The Flying Sloth

Posted · Hidden by polar, October 22, 2015 - No reason given
Hidden by polar, October 22, 2015 - No reason given

gb please

As a sidenote:

Oz3mP5x.png

My parents had dirt on them, you're rude.

Posted · Hidden by polar, October 22, 2015 - No reason given
Hidden by polar, October 22, 2015 - No reason given

gb please 

Oz3mP5x.png

My parents had dirt on them, and here you are using a horrible word. You need to stop.

Using the word, "cancer," to describe items is certainly crass at best. I have no issue with a thread encouraging users to be more mindful of what they are saying and to use more precise diction and syntax. But I certainly will not be warning or banning people who chose to use it anyways. TF2 is an "M" rated game. People use swear words around here, at times for comedic effect and at times just out of poor taste. But I think we are all old enough to make our own decisions about how we choose to portray ourselves with the language we use.