What is the best item business to get into?

EvanDog

Hi Everyone,

I'm no expert in trading, but recently I have acquired about 8 keys, and I also have over 20 refined metal in my backpack. I'm reluctant to use the keys to buy a Bill's Hat, though, because I have seen how their value is and has been on a steady path downwards for a while now. I know the whole philosophy of tf2 trading is "buy low, sell high," but I feel like if I buy something that is commonly accepted as trading currency, like a Bill's Hat, I won't be able to sell it for more than I paid for it because the value will just keep going down and down.

So, to the point now-- what is the best item market to get into? That is, what items either have a steady price, or their price will go up in the near future? Except I want something that I can sell for a significant profit, and it won't take forever to sell.

Thanks to everyone who responds,

Evan

Avoid expensive (non-unusuals) items because some of them are going to shift due to keys being more expensive.

Best choice, buy/sell in bulk. 

But, Stranges/Hats are the best. More specifically stranges/hats that are less than 5 Ref. 

P.s. hoarding/holding items until they rise isn't the best idea, for one you often lose as other items shift, secondly the profit you get isnt worth the time it took for them to go up. 

Two options:

1) Buy paint cans and sell them on the Market or Warehouse.

2) Crates. Most traders usually sneer at crates, but you can get some of the good crate series from sellers on Outpost and on trade servers. When I had a surplus of 20 refined off of selling Tour of Duty tickets, I put the money towards crates. Planning to save up to 50 now.

Buy and sell craft weapons (Sharp dressers, AWPs, 3-rune blades).

I buy them all for 1.66 and sell for 1.88-2.11 depending on the weapon. Small margin but consistent