3athompson

I started playing the 2 cities tour when it first came out, and I loved the rewards. The ability to add a sheen to your weapon and a glow to your eyes seemed amazing. Unfortunately, the market is really bad right now for them, partially because they are new, and partially because they are hard to classify. Backpack.tf doesn't have a standard method of searching for kits and pricing them yet, so I thought I'd give my minimal expertise in the subject to give people a preliminary guide.

• SEARCHING FOR KITS IN CLASSIFIEDS: Unfortunately, no method exists yet for using the top search bar to find killstreak kits. Instead, I found the best way of searching for kits is filtering the classifieds. Search for the item "Kit", and input the weapon you are searching for in the crafting target section. All qualities of kits appear. There is no way to filter for only professional kits. For example, a search for minigun kits results in this: http://backpack.tf/classifieds/search/id/52d83ca64dd7b825088b4568

• COMPARING SPECIALIZED KIT CRAFTING COSTS: A specialized fabricator requires 1 unique killstreak item, 5 reinforced parts, and 24 battleworn parts. Using current prices of 4 ref for a unique kit,  and .22 ref for reinforced and battleworn parts, the cost of crafting is (4*1)+(.22*5)+(.22*24) = 4+1.11+5.33 = 10.44 ref, or slightly less than 1.5 keys. This assumes that the kit was for a stock weapon, which doesn't consume a weapon, otherwise it would cost 10.5 keys exactly. As you can see, 1.5 keys is the standard cost of crafting a kit from a fabricator. Therefore, using the previous examples, it would be cheapest to buy a 2-key minigun fabricator and craft that for a total cost of 3.5 keys. This link shows that you can get it for even cheaper, by buying the vaccinator kit: http://backpack.tf/classifieds/search/id/52c8967d4cd7b8b8128b4567