How are you supposed to make a profit in this economy?

Sir Sir

Everyone wants to sell it at market price and no one is willing to give a good enough discount to make it worth while. This is so tedious, how do you guys get around this?

Even on low cost stuff they do this.

By buying stuff below market value, predicting item movements, or making an "equal" trade that isn't all that equal. There are plenty of people who sell for less and there are plenty of ways to make profit. 

Just an example: quickbuy some bad/meh/okay unusual that is 100 for like 60-70, then 1:1 it for a good unusual that is 90, and sell that for 80-100.

Hi guys! Thanks!

It's just I come across a lot of people who sell it at exactly the market value. Guess I have to wait for some quick buy or learn which items are likely to go up in price. I am new at this so I am rather green. :)

It just takes alot of patience nowadays. It paid off for me once, a stn bot was selling a Vintage Texas Ten gallon for just a tad over market price. But it was painted black , and it turned out to be level 1 also. Have you seen the prices people will pay for items cause of weird/glitch levels.

when I need some quick funds, I buy some genuine for a key or two that I can flip on the SCM for more than the cost of replacing the keys, rinse and repeat

I didn't even know levels mattered.

My total refs is somewhere around 17 ref since I didn't start out with a steam card. I got 7 ref of it from all the weapon drops I had. maybe I should purchase some keys and try what Vrakos suggested.

What is SCM?