Building my first PC! ($1500 - $2000 Budget)

Charity

After 4 years of using a dying Macbook Pro, it's finally time I step my shit up. 

Now that I'm working a ton, I'm ready to start placing money aside to finally build a gaming Rig. 

I'm completely new to this, but I've got a couple IRL friends that've helped me get things started, and I've got a couple basic part lists set out as of now. All I ask for is a little bit of help choosing things, and a solid explanation of what's what. I know how to put it together, and I know what does what, but some tips and tricks would be delightful. 

As of now, here's my very first list.

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/Charity/saved/cLHnTW

This list was made completely ill-informed, and is missing a couple things. This was a very basic slap-together as soon as I figured it was time to build a Rig of my own. 

After asking a close friend of mine who built his own $3500 Rig what I should do with a $1500 - $2000 Rig, he responded with this list. 

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/Charity/saved/zcjqqs

I'm unsure which is better and for what reasons, and I'd like some of that pointed out to me. Feel free to build me a completely new Rig, if you feel that I'd be better off with it, but all I ask is that you leave the Thermaltake MK. I and the Corsair Vengeance K65. Those are the only things I really wish to build my PC around. 

Thank you guys in advance, I can't wait to see your feedback. 

-Charity

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

CPU Cooler: Corsair H105 73.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler  ($94.99 @ NCIX US) 
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z97X-SLI ATX LGA1150 Motherboard  ($88.99 @ Newegg) 
Storage: Crucial MX100 256GB 2.5" Solid State Drive  ($94.97 @ SuperBiiz) 
Video Card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 4GB WINDFORCE Video Card  ($354.99 @ SuperBiiz) 
Case: Phanteks Enthoo Pro ATX Full Tower Case  ($99.99 @ Amazon) 
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (OEM) (64-bit)  ($84.15 @ SuperBiiz)